About Us

Our History

Cricket first began in Buller in 1866 and the first really organized games took place in 1867. Since then, cricket has always been the major summer sport in the district. For the first 30 years or so cricket operated on a club basis and what we would now regard as inter-Association matches were handled by clubs.

Early in the 20th Century Buller became an Association in its own right and since then has always been an independent District Association and is currently affiliated to Canterbury.

Buller has had three New Zealand representatives in its ranks over the years and has produced a number of provincial reps.

Buller won the Hawke Cup, the pinnacle of District Cricket in NZ in 2015.

Current clubs are Athletic, High School, Ngakawau and Old Boys. All clubs have a senior and youth team with 40 over cricket played on Saturdays for seniors and Monday evening T20 for youth.
The Association also operates a Primary Schools’ competition on Wednesday afternoon and encourages Buller High School and the primary schools to enter national competitions such as the Gillette Cup.

Senior Club Contacts

Ngakawau: Craig Adams
Cosmo Athletic: Callum Lennon
Old Boys: Troy Scanlon
High School: Sam Jope

Buller Cricket: Jordon Hill

School Contacts

Westport South: Craig Adams
Westport North: Nick Machin
Reefton: Wayne Wright
Granity: Megan Rich
St Canices: Barry Townrow
Karamea: Email
Share This