Although the Coronavirus pandemic did not affect Buller crickets club season it has affected the final prize giving and presentation of trophies.
The presentations, which were scheduled for the end of March, will now be held at a suitable later date.
Buller cricket has decided to announce the trophy winners with the “silver ware” to be held back until the official presentations are held.
One of the highlights of the 2019/20 season was the holding of the South Island Primary Schools tournament in Westport. This was a massive undertaking from the smallest province in the South Island, with 14 teams, and supporters, being in Westport for the week. With seven wickets needing to be prepared for the matches for the week, 14 umpires required for the games each day, plus ground preparation had to be sorted, it became a hugh undertaking.
Ground and wicket preparation was in the capable hands of Graham Pratt and his helpers. Graham had started 4 months earlier getting everything up to standard and his efforts were greatly applauded over the week by the players and supporters. Buller Cricket thus awarded Graham the “Kerry Dellaca Trophy” for Voluntary Effort for his sterling work.
The Club and Representative Awards were sorted by player/team contributions with bat and ball during the season. Troy Scanlon again stood out at both these levels where he will receive the Club Batsman of the Year, NBS MVP Player of the Year and the Representative Bowler of the Year trophies.
The Lindsay Ireland Determination to succeed trophy is one of the most sort after and honoured awards handed out at the Buller Cricket Awards each year. Buller captain Troy Scanlon said the winner this year no one would question. He brings a hard nosed attitude and skill to the game but also adds a lot of experience which shone through this year as it has every other year that he has played for the Buller Lions.
He chipped in with some very valuable runs in the middle to lower order and put a huge price on his wicket throughout the season.
He is a top team man. He loves a yarn and analysing the game but when it comes time to go onto the field he has a competitive edge that certainly gives the team a focus and lift.
The winner of the Lindsay Ireland determination to succeed award this year is Nathan Thompson.

One trophy that Buller Cricket will be pleased to see presented on the night will be the Tindale Trophy. This trophy is played as a 50 over game between Buller and West Coast seniors and was last played for in the 2012/13 season when Buller won it. Since then West Coast had been unable to field a senior side, until this year, with Buller again being victorious, but the trophy is alive again.
Trophy Winners 2019/20

Kevin Aldridge Trophy Flynn Aldridge

Club Batsman of Year Troy Scanlon

Club Bowler of Year Jesse Forsyth

NBS MVP Troy Scanlon

Kearns Cup 1ST Round Winners Athletic

Laurie Howard Challenge Trophy Old Boys

Bob Pratt Round Robin Winners Shared Old Boys / Athletic

ESL Senior Trophy Old Boys

Most Promising Bat Devlin Pratt

Most Promising Bowler Ethan Slee

Player of the Year Troy Scanlon

Lindsay Ireland Trophy (For Determination to Succeed) Nathan Thompson

Representative Batsmen of the Year Michael Grafton

Representative Bowler of the Year Troy Scanlon

Tindale Trophy (One day trophy played against West Coast) Buller

Kerry Dellaca Trophy (For Voluntary Effort) Graeme Pratt

Share This